Help Illuminate Rotherhithe

Illuminate Rotherhithe was a celebration of our community’s history. It incorporated free events – talks, films, music and dance – from 22-26th November 2018.

The festival began with a community lantern procession, led by London Bubble, on Thursday 22nd November. 
The procession began at 5pm in Mayflower Park, and wind through the streets of Rotherhithe.
In the build up, we ran a series of free lantern making workshops which were suitable for everyone aged 6 or over.
The lanterns were made from withies covered in PVA coated tissue. They took time to make (but are very satisfying!)

This event is now finished.

Would you like to help?

We are looking for volunteers to 
– Make a lantern for the procession
– Help others to make one at one or more of our free workshops
– Take part in the procession on the evening of 22nd November

Times & dates

You need to come to a training session on either:
Wednesday 10th October
or Monday 15th October
6:30-8:30pm

At London Bubble, 3-5 Elephant Lane, Rotherhithe, SE16 4JD

Once you have attended a training workshop, we are looking for volunteers to offer support at one or more workshop in late October/early November

Public workshops will be on

Saturday 20th October, 2-4pm
Monday 22nd October, 6:30-8:30pm
Tuesday 23rd October, 1:30-3:30pm
Saturday 27th October, 2-4pm
Saturday 3rd November, 2-4pm
Saturday 10th November, 2-5pm
Saturday 17th November, 1-4pm
Sunday 18th November, 1-4pm

All of the workshops are at our base in Rotherhithe, or nearby.

For more information about the workshops themselves and to book a free place, click HERE

Is this right for me?

Yes, if you…

– Have an interest in and enjoy creative activities and the arts
– Are interested in meeting a diverse group of people, including families and old adults

Volunteers will be supervised by Bubble staff at all times and will not need to undergo a DBS check.
We can reimburse reasonable expenses.

If you would like to find out more, get in touch with Georgia or send her a competed registration form to book your place at the training workshops.

Images courtesy of Southwark Borough Council

Images